top of page
  • Writer's pictureLydia Jankowski

Browsing Books at the Station

Discovering the array of reading at the Little Free Library next to the Mansfield Train Station.


I have always been intrigued by Little Free Libraries. Their unique size, location, and surprising mix of books give them an important purpose of extending the availability of books in the lives of all people. These little boxes seem to encompass every genre of reading from mystery novels and parenting guidelines, to picture books and sewing

instructions. The collection of books in these little libraries reflect the community in which it has been placed. A box placed near an elementary school will have a very different mix of books compared to one on a busy city street. For that reason, I was curious to see the genres that had accumulated at the Mansfield Train Station. Placed in the town’s North Common next to the commuter rail, the library sees lots of


passersby: kids, dog walkers, runners, and commuters; therefore, I was expecting a wide range of books as well. I was not disappointed. Below are just some of my favorite titles that I found in this Little Free library. While some are more well known than others, the books have a humorously unique range of contrast that I hope will delight you as much as they did for me.



For more information on Little Free Libraries, check out https://littlefreelibrary.org/







43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page