top of page
  • Writer's pictureLydia Jankowski

Avery's Little Free Library

Avery and his Little Free Library

The latest little free library in our town was created by one cool kid. Avery is 9 years old, in the 4th grade, likes gym, Nerf guns, and video games, and is the creator of the newest little free library in Mansfield. Avery thought of the idea last December after seeing and visiting another little free library in town and says, “that inspired me to make this one”. He had his grandfather help him build his own library that he could put near his house. Avery, of course, chose the color of the library, saying “red is my favorite color, duh”. I asked Avery why he wanted to make the little free library and he said he built it because “it was generous and a lot of people read books”. In Avery’s own room are shelves full of books which he showed me.

Avery said his favorite books include the Captain Underpants Series, or “books with pictures. I mean like lots and lots of pictures. I mean like every page”. Although Avery’s Library has just recently been installed, many people have already come to visit and donate books. Avery helped me arrange my own book donation in the library, and described to me the shelves where the different genres go. Avery says, “people give books, normal books, chapter books, any kind of books”. I asked him what the weirdest book someone had donated was and he noted, “books aren't weird, that's what I think”. Avery said it has been really cool to see people visit the library. Most of the time he says families visit, but sometimes kids, and sometimes just adults. Besides going to his own little library, Avery likes to go to the public library as well. I asked him why he thinks reading and libraries are important, and he told me “people read to pass the time, and if we didn't have libraries people wouldn't be super smart like they are today”.

It was awesome to see Avery’s excitement about his Little Free Library and hear his own perspective on libraries.


Avery becoming one with his library

98 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page