top of page
  • Writer's pictureLydia Jankowski

The College Library Circuit

During my February vacation, I spent a few days visiting colleges in my area. I have reached that stressful and exciting time in my life where common questions I am asked seem to always be “What major do you want to go into?” or “What schools are you looking at?”. With this entire process comes the infamous college tour. The monotonous walk through campus with the tour guide quickly explaining why this certain dining hall serves the best Mongolian Beef Stew, or the overzealous parents who revel at the luxuries now offered at college that they were never afforded, generally seeming much more interested than the bored teenager lingering by their side. Yet, I am beginning to digress from the main purpose of this post. While the information I received on these tours about dorms and dining seemed to all blend together, it was the libraries at these colleges that began to create unique distinctions between the different atmospheres surrounding each school. While for most families the stop at the library was looked on as a warm place to stand amid the tour guides talking, for me it became the pinnacle of every visit. When the tour was finished, I would always go back to the library to continue to roam the stacks. Not only did my love for libraries inspire these extended visits, but it is the perspective I gained from the school that gave me a much more in-depth understanding of what a school could offered. I believe that for a student to really succeed in their studies, they need to feel comfortable where they are learning and studying, which in most cases, is in the library. For me, how a college or university designs and provides these spaces for their students seems to say a lot about the atmosphere of the school and their values. Seeing the students interact with the spaces was equally as important. Whether they were studying alone or in groups, the students engagement with their environment, even just the library, offered me more insight into the school overall. Then again, I do write a library blog...


Dartmouth College - Hanover, New Hampshire

The Dartmouth libraries are beautiful. They are grand, pristine, and inspiring. They are what you would expect any Ivy League college's libraries to look like. In every corner students are intensely working and studying, and things feel generally important as you walk through the halls. What I liked most about the Dartmouth libraries was the variety. I frankly have never been in an area where so many libraries were only a short walk away.

Tower Room in Baker Library

Baker-Berry Library

Sherman Art Library

Orozco Room at Baker-Berry Library

Berry Library

Sandborn Hall

Rauner Special Collections Library


Connecticut College- New London, Connecticut

The Shain library at Connecticut College seems understated following Dartmouth, but the atmosphere is calm and welcoming. On this visit, I had the chance to speak with one of the librarians at the school who was very excited to talk to me about the Conn. and the library (especially after finding out about my blog).

Charles E. Shain Library


Wesleyan University- Middletown, Connecticut

One of my biggest regrets is not being able to go back to explore the Olin Library at Wesleyan more. Upon the quick walk through during the tour, I loved the mix of old and new incorporated into the building. The library was warm, and offered many different areas to study in. Although I was there when most students were in class, the students at the library working in groups were actively engaged in conversation or laughing together, which seemed to be a common aspect throughout campus.

Olin Memorial Library


Tufts University- Medford, Massachusetts

Walking through the library at Tufts, I was struck by how genuine the students seemed to be. While the inside of the library itself is very classic, the students stood out to me as people who really care about their work and their peers. It was the only school where I saw multiple people working with who I presume were professors, engaging in conversation and getting help in that subject, which was really awesome to see.

Tisch Library


*Besides libraries, the cookies the dining hall serves are also a good way to learn more about a school ;)


70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page